Workshop zur Wirtschaftsarchäologie in London (Archäologie des Themse Ästuar) und Oxford (Treffen mit Vertretern des Oxford Roman Economy Project)

From 9-13 November 2015, the Archaeology of Pre-Modern Economies Research Training Group organised a workshop in the United Kingdom. The workshop was structured around the main research themes of the RTG, that is Economic Networks, Settlement Centres and Environs, and Religious Institutions as Economic Units. The programme included educational excursions, museum visits, group seminar-discussions, and networking activities.

During our stay in London, we investigated the economic life around Thames River. Following a boat trip to sites of important and diachronic economic significance along the riverbank, the RTG visited the Museum of London Docklands. The Museum gives unparalleled insight into the socio-economic history of the city diachronically, allowing us to organise a discussion seminar around various issues arising from our visit: production and trade, slavery and economy, economic transformations through time, economic networks, comparisons between modern and pre-modern economies, and the role of the rivers in the economic life of pre-modern societies.

Following this seminar, we visited the British Museum, a nuclei of worldwide collections of direct interest to the broad chronological and geographical spectrum of our RTG: West and Central Europe, the Mediterranean and the Levant, Asia and America. As direct contact with the material cannot be replaced by library research, the breath of these collections provided fresh insights into various economic aspects that our RTG is currently working on.

On our way to Oxford a colleague from the University College London – currently conducting archaeological research in the area – provided a deep insight into the prehistoric sites of Avebury and Stonehenge. Both sites form part of an extraordinary set of Neolithic and Bronze Age ceremonial sites that seemingly formed a vast sacred and politico-economic landscape.

During our stay in Oxford we visited Balliol College and we were introduced to the academic life of the University. Most importantly, however, we held networking activities at All Souls College with the Oxford Roman Economy Project. The Project addresses “fundamental issues of the Roman imperial economy and analyses all major economic activities (including agriculture, trade, commerce, and extraction), utilising quantifiable bodies of archaeological and documentary evidence and placing them in the broader structural context of regional variation, distribution, size and nature of markets, supply and demand” ( http://www.romaneconomy.ox.ac.uk/ ). Thus, the Project has a lot in common in terms of objectives with our RTG. During the workshops, the speakers of the two groups (Oxford and Bonn/Cologne) presented the Projects. In addition, the databases of the two groups were presented and doctoral students from both sides had the opportunity to present their work providing a forum for further discussion and future directions. Furthermore, ways of future collaboration, both at individual and at group level, were put forward. For example, the speakers (Profs Drs Bentz and Heinzelmann) discussed ways of merging the results of the two databases and mutual interaction in the future.

Finally, Prof. Dr Bemmann and Susanne Reichert had a meeting with Dr. Bryan Miller, who held a Humboldt Fellowship in the Department of Prehistory at Bonn in the past. He is currently working in Oxford in the Nomadic Empires project, currently funded by the European Research Council. The Project’s main agenda is the understanding of nomadic regimes around the world on their own terms, providing a broad comparative perspective into nomadic empires and histories ( http://www.rai.ox.ac.uk/nomadicempires ). These issues are central to the research themes of a number of our RTG scholars.

In conclusion, the London-Oxford workshop was a most fruitful and experiential research activity. Due to its broad geographical and chronological framework, it was inclusive and informative for all the members of the RTG. At the same time, it acted as a most appropriate means for networking with important international research groups in the United Kingdom, and for making our RTG visible at a wider audience working on pre-modern economies.

 

 

 

  • Date/Time: 09/11/2015 - 13/11/2015, All Day

Workshop zur Wirtschaftsarchäologie in London (Archäologie des Themse Ästuar) und Oxford (Treffen mit Vertretern des Oxford Roman Economy Project)

Vom 9. bis zum 13. November 2015 organisierte das Graduiertenkolleg 1878 „Archäologie vormoderner Wirtschaftsräume“ einen Workshop in England. Dieser beschäftigte sich mit den Hauptforschungsschwerpunkten: Wirtschaftliche Netzwerke, Siedlungszentren und ihr Umland sowie religiöse Institutionen als ökonomische Einheiten. Das Programm beinhaltete fortbildende Exkursionen, Museumsbesuche, Gruppenseminare und Diskussionen und bot Gelegenheit zum Austausch mit anderen Wissenschaftlern, die sich mit den gleichen Inhalten befassen.

Während unseres Aufenthaltes in London erkundete das Kolleg das wirtschaftliche Leben um die Themse. Damit verbunden war eine Bootsfahrt zu den Stätten von diachron-wirtschaftlicher Bedeutung entlang des Flussverlaufs und ein Besuch des Museum of London Docklands, das eine Einsicht in die sozio-ökonomische Geschichte der Stadt bot. Dadurch angeregt wurde ein Diskussionsseminar organisiert in dem verschiedene Aspekte und Fragen besprochen werden konnten: Produktion und Handel, Sklaverei und Ökonomie, wirtschaftliche Transformationsprozesse, wirtschaftliche Netzwerke, Vergleiche zwischen modernen und vormodernen Wirtschaftssystemen und die Rolle des Flusses im Wirtschaftsleben vormoderner Gesellschaften.

Im weiteren Verlauf des Workshops wurde das British Museum besucht, das einen Nukleus weltweiter Sammlungen bildet, die von direktem Interesse für den weiten chronologischen und geographischen Rahmen des GRKs sind: West- und Mitteleuropa, die mediterrane Welt und die Levante, Asien und Amerika wurden thematisiert. Weil der direkte Kontakt mit dem Material die Bibliotheksarbeit nicht ersetzen kann, ermöglichte diese Abwechslung einen frischen Blick auf die verschiedenen wirtschaftlichen Aspekte, die im Rahmen des Kollegs derzeit bearbeitet werden.

Auf dem Weg nach Oxford erhielt das Kolleg, geführt durch den Kollegen Barney Harris des University College London, einen tiefergehenden Einblick in die prähistorischen Stätten von Avebury und Stonehenge. Beide Stätten sind Teil eines außergewöhnlichen Spektrums an neolithischen und bronzezeitlichen Kultplätzen, die eine weitreichende sakrale und politisch-ökonomische Landschaft formten.

Während unseres Aufenthalts in Oxford besuchte die Gruppe das Balliol College und wurde in das akademische Leben der Universität Oxford eingeführt. Zentral war das Treffen mit den Kooperationspartnern vom Oxford Roman Economy Project, Andrew Wilson und Alan Bowman, von denen letzterer bereits einen Gastvortrag im Rahmen des jour fixe des GRKs gehalten hat, sowie Oxforder Doktorand/innen. Der Workshop diente insbesondere der internationalen Vernetzung und der Qualifikation der Kollegiaten und Kollegiatinnen. Das Oxford Roman Economy Project beschäftigt sich mit den “fundamental issues of the Roman imperial economy and analyses all major economic activities (including agriculture, trade, commerce, and extraction), utilising quantifiable bodies of archaeological and documentary evidence and placing them in the broader structural context of regional variation, distribution, size and nature of markets, supply and demand” ( http://www.romaneconomy.ox.ac.uk/ ). Im Rahmen des Workshops wurden durch die Sprecher der beiden Gruppen (Oxford und Bonn/Köln) die jeweiligen Projekte vorgestellt. Außerdem wurden die unterschiedlichen Datenbanken präsentiert und Raum für die Doktoranden und Doktorandinnen geboten, ihre Forschungsarbeiten zu diskutieren. So wurde ein Forum für weiterführende Kooperationen geschaffen, das eine zukünftige Zusammenarbeit, sowohl auf individueller als auch auf institutioneller Ebene, ermöglichen soll. Es wurden die Möglichkeiten diskutiert, die Ergebnisse der beiden Datenbanken zusammenzuführen sowie gemeinsame Veranstaltungsformate angedacht.

Prof. Dr. Jan Bemmann und Susanne Reichert trafen sich ferner mit Dr. Bryan Miller, der ein Humboldt Stipendium im Institut für Vor- und Frühgeschichte in Bonn absolvierte. Derzeit arbeitet dieser in Oxford am Nomadic Empires project,das aktuell durch den Europäischen Forschungsrat (ERC) gefördert wird. Das Hauptanliegen des Projekts betrifft die Erforschung nomadischer Systeme weltweit und unter ihren jeweiligen Konditionen und bietet so eine weite vergleichende Perspektive zu den nomadischen Reichen und deren Geschichte (http://www.rai.ox.ac.uk/nomadicempires). Die Themen des Nomadic Empires projects sind auch für die Forschungsprojekte einiger unserer Kollegiaten von zentraler Bedeutung.

Der London-Oxford Workshop stellte eine Bereicherung für die Kollegiaten und Kollegiatinnen dar. Bedingt durch den weiten geographischen und chronologischen Rahmen, der dabei umspannt wurde, wurden alle Mitglieder des GRKs angesprochen. Er bot gleichzeitig Möglichkeit zur Verständigung mit anderen internationalen Wissenschaftlern und Forschungsgruppen in England und förderte die Sichtbarkeit des Kollegs für eine weitere Hörerschaft, die sich ebenfalls mit vormodernen Wirtschaften beschäftigt.

 

  • Datum/Zeit: 09.11.2015 - 13.11.2015, Ganztägig


Diese Veranstaltung in eigenen Kalender exportieren: iCal
Alle Veranstaltungen in eigenen Kalender exportieren: iCal (alle Veranstaltungen)